Product Review · Dash Cams
Vantrue N5S Review: Is the 4-Channel 360-Degree Dash Cam Worth It?
Vantrue N5S 4 Channel 360 Degree 2.7K Dash Cam
The Vantrue N5S records front, two cabin views and rear on four STARVIS 2 sensors, per Vantrue's page and the Amazon listing. Here is what the two sources state about its parking mode, voice control, storage and heat tolerance, and where their figures differ.
Check PriceWe may earn a commission if you make a purchase through our links.
Is the Vantrue N5S 4-Channel 360-Degree Dash Cam Worth It?
The Vantrue N5S is worth it if the whole point of the purchase is covering the inside of the car as thoroughly as the road: Vantrue's own product page and the Amazon listing both describe four cameras — front, front cabin, rear cabin and rear — every one of them on a STARVIS 2 sensor, with infrared on both cabin cameras, buffered parking mode, voice control and 5GHz Wi-Fi. Two things matter before you buy: parking mode requires a hardwire kit that is sold separately, on both sources, and per the listing, the memory card isn't included. If you only need the road ahead and behind, four channels is more camera than the job calls for, and a two- or three-channel unit leaves you less to wire.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
Four cameras, and what each one does
Per the listing, the N5S records "2.7K+1080P+1080P+1440P" across its four channels and can run in "1CH/2CH/3CH/4CH" recording modes, driven by what the listing calls a "dual-core processor". Vantrue's page states the same four views — "front, front cabin & rear cabin, and rear views in up to 1944P + 1080P + 1080P + 1440P at 30FPS" — so the listing's 2.7K front camera is the view Vantrue writes as 1944P, and the 30FPS figure comes from Vantrue's page.
Vantrue's page names a sensor for each camera: STARVIS 2 IMX675 at the front, STARVIS 2 IMX662 for the front cabin, STARVIS 2 IMX662 for the rear cabin, and "STARVIS 2 IMX675 + HDR" at the rear. The listing agrees where it names parts: it says "all 4 cameras feature cutting-edge STARVIS 2 tech", gives the rear camera an "IMX675 sensor with HDR processing", and gives the rear cabin camera an "IMX662 sensor". One wording wrinkle: the listing's bullet calls the rear camera "2.5K", while the listing's own title and Vantrue's page both put it at 1440P.
The rear cabin camera is the unusual one. Per the listing, it is there for "capturing clear details throughout the trunk, back seat, and side windows" and is pitched at "monitoring children, pets, and valuable cargo". Both cabin cameras have infrared: the listing says that "with infrared lights, both front cabin and rear cabin cams provide exceptional clarity inside your vehicle — even in complete darkness", and Vantrue's page puts the count at 4 IR LEDs on each cabin camera.
The listing also makes comparative claims — "100% higher low-light performance and 40% greater license plate recognition capacity than other STARVIS dash cameras", and plate capture "with no glare at 20MPH". None of those comes with a published method, so treat them as the seller's marketing rather than a specification.
Parking mode and the hardwire kit
Per the listing, the N5S "automatically activates parking mode when you turn off the ignition", uses "10-second pre-recording buffered motion detection" so the start of an event is captured, and adds "quick-start collision detection". Vantrue's page describes "four parking modes" and "4-channel recording and 10-second pre-recording" while parked. Both sources are explicit about power: the listing says parking mode "requires hardwiring (Hardwire Kit sold separate)", and Vantrue's page says "hardwire kit required, sold separately".
Outside of parking, the listing describes loop recording that "automatically overwrites oldest files when storage is full" and a 3-axis G-sensor that "instantly detects collisions and locks critical footage in a protected event folder".
If hardwiring is new to you, this fuse-tap walkthrough is the place to start; it is the same job regardless of how many cameras hang off the unit.
Voice control, Wi-Fi, GPS and the app
Voice control is on both sources with the same language list. The listing names "English, Russian, Chinese, French, and Japanese" and gives the commands as "save video, take photo, turn on/off audio, turn on/off screen"; Vantrue's page lists "English/Japanese/Russian/Chinese/French" and shows examples such as "Take photo" and "Turn on WiFi".
Both sources state 5GHz Wi-Fi; the listing attaches a "4x faster data transfer" claim to it without saying faster than what. For GPS, the listing says "dual-system GPS", and Vantrue's page describes a "built-in GPS logger that records your route, speed, and location". The listing describes the free Vantrue app as the place to "adjust settings, preview/edit videos, share footage online, and track GPS data", and both sources mention trip data: the listing says you can "generate detailed mileage reports with one tap", and Vantrue's page says you can "track your trips and access detailed mileage statistics via the Vantrue App or Vantrue Player". Firmware updates arrive over the air through the app, per the listing.
One thing not to assume: Vantrue's page shows a 4G LTE Module among its bundle options. The Amazon listing this page links doesn't mention LTE at all, so treat LTE as a separate purchase unless the current listing says otherwise.
Smaller conveniences, all per the listing: menu languages "including English, French, Spanish, and Chinese", an "auto LCD shutoff" to cut distraction, and "one-touch audio recording control" for privacy.
Storage, heat and power
Both sources state support for microSD cards up to 1TB. Per the listing, the card is sold separately, a 1TB card gives "up to 40 hours of continuous 4 channel recordings", and the listing asks that you "use a reputable, genuine SD card", recommending Vantrue's own industrial-grade card.
Power is a supercapacitor on both sources — the listing describes "a durable super capacitor and heat-resistant materials", and Vantrue's page describes a "supercapacitor designed for safety, durability, and superior performance". The two sources do not agree on the temperature ceiling: the listing states "-4℉ to 140℉", while Vantrue's page states "working in -4°F to 158°F conditions". Both agree on the low end; until the two figures line up, the conservative number to plan around is the listing's 140℉. For why a supercapacitor matters in a hot car at all, see this explainer on supercapacitor versus battery dash cams.
Mounting and fit
Per the listing, the front unit uses an "enhanced adhesive mount" and a "ball joint bracket", with "fully adjustable cabin and rear cameras". Vantrue's page describes "adjustable mount angles, and adhesive base". The listing's own setup notes add that the "GPS suction mount" should be installed "securely" with "no gaps between the mount and the main unit", and that power should come from "the original car charger cable or Hardwire Kit".
Two optional parts are called out on the listing as sold separately: a suction cup mount "for oblique or vertical windows", and an "extended 50ft rear camera cable" for large vehicles. The listing's compatibility line reads "compatible with most vehicle types including cars, trucks, SUVs, pickups, caravans, minivans, and especially Jeep Wranglers" — that is the seller's claim, and the honest way to use it is to check your own rear-cable run and glass angle against the standard parts before buying the add-ons. If the vehicle is long enough that a 50-foot cable is on the table, this guide to dash cams for RVs and travel trailers covers that situation specifically.
The warranty is 18 months on both sources: the listing calls it an "extendable 18-month warranty", and Vantrue's page says "Up to 18-Month Warranty".
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | Vantrue's page |
|---|---|---|
| Channels | 4 (front, front cabin, rear cabin, rear) | 4 (front, front cabin, rear cabin, rear) |
| Resolutions | 2.7K + 1080P + 1080P + 1440P | 1944P + 1080P + 1080P + 1440P at 30FPS |
| Recording modes | 1CH / 2CH / 3CH / 4CH | Not stated |
| Sensors | STARVIS 2 on all four; rear IMX675, rear cabin IMX662 | IMX675 front and rear; IMX662 both cabins |
| Cabin infrared | Infrared on both cabin cameras | 4 IR LEDs per cabin camera |
| Parking mode | Auto-activates with ignition off; 10-second buffered motion detection; collision detection | Four parking modes; 4-channel recording; 10-second pre-recording |
| Hardwiring | Required; kit sold separately | Required; kit sold separately |
| G-sensor | 3-axis, locks footage to a protected folder | Not stated |
| Voice control | English, Russian, Chinese, French, Japanese | English, Japanese, Russian, Chinese, French |
| Wi-Fi | 5GHz | 5GHz |
| GPS | Dual-system GPS | Built-in GPS logger (route, speed, location) |
| LTE | Not mentioned | 4G LTE Module shown as a bundle option |
| microSD | Up to 1TB, sold separately; up to 40 hours of 4-channel footage | Up to 1TB |
| Power | Super capacitor | Supercapacitor |
| Temperature | -4℉ to 140℉ | -4°F to 158°F |
| Mount | Adhesive mount, ball joint bracket | Adjustable angles, adhesive base |
| Optional parts | Suction cup mount; 50ft rear cable | Not stated |
| Warranty | Extendable 18-month | Up to 18-month |
What stands out
- Four STARVIS 2 sensors, two of them pointed inward, with infrared on both cabin cameras per both sources.
- A rear cabin camera that the listing aims at the trunk, back seat and side windows.
- Buffered parking mode with a 10-second pre-record on both sources, plus a 3-axis G-sensor per the listing.
- Voice control in five languages, the same five on both sources.
- 1TB card support, with the listing's own estimate of up to 40 hours of four-channel footage.
Where it might not fit
- Parking mode needs a hardwire kit, sold separately per both sources.
- The temperature ceiling is quoted two ways — 140℉ on the listing, 158°F on Vantrue's page.
- The card and the LTE module are extra: the card is sold separately per the listing, and the LTE module appears only in Vantrue's bundle options.
- An optional 50-foot rear camera cable is sold separately, per the listing, for large vehicles.
Verdict
The Vantrue N5S is worth it for a driver who wants the cabin recorded from two angles as well as the road from two, and who is willing to hardwire it. Both sources agree on the parts that decide that use case — STARVIS 2 sensors on all four cameras, infrared on both cabin views, buffered parking mode, voice control, 5GHz Wi-Fi, 1TB support and an 18-month warranty — and the disagreements are small: a temperature ceiling of 140℉ or 158°F depending on the source, and a rear camera described as 2.5K in one listing bullet and 1440P everywhere else. Check the current price of the Vantrue N5S on Amazon and confirm what the current package includes, because the hardwire kit is not part of it on either source, and per the listing, neither is the card.
Where to buy: Check the current price of the Vantrue N5S on Amazon.
FAQ
Is the Vantrue N5S 4-channel 360-degree dash cam worth it?
Yes, if cabin coverage is the reason you're buying. Both Vantrue's page and the Amazon listing describe four STARVIS 2 cameras, infrared on both cabin views, buffered parking mode, voice control and 5GHz Wi-Fi. If you only want front and rear, a camera with fewer channels covers that with less wiring.
Does the Vantrue N5S need a hardwire kit?
For parking mode, yes, on both sources: the listing says parking mode "requires hardwiring (Hardwire Kit sold separate)", and Vantrue's page says "hardwire kit required, sold separately". For power in general, the listing says to use "the original car charger cable or Hardwire Kit".
What is the fourth camera on the N5S for?
Per the listing, the rear cabin camera captures "the trunk, back seat, and side windows" and is aimed at monitoring children, pets and cargo. Vantrue's page gives it a STARVIS 2 IMX662 sensor and 4 IR LEDs.
How hot can the Vantrue N5S get?
The two sources differ. The listing states -4℉ to 140℉; Vantrue's page states -4°F to 158°F. Both describe a supercapacitor rather than a battery. Plan around the lower ceiling until the figures agree.
Does the N5S come with LTE?
Not on the Amazon listing this page links, which doesn't mention LTE. Vantrue's own page shows a 4G LTE Module as a bundle option, so treat it as a separate purchase.
Sources
- Vantrue — product page for the Vantrue N5S (Nexus 5S) 4-channel dash cam, accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the Vantrue N5S 4 Channel 360 Degree 2.7K Dash Cam (title, brand and feature bullets).
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Affiliate Disclosure
