Product Review · Dash Cams
Vantrue N4S Review: Is the 3-Channel Dash Cam Worth It in 2026?
Vantrue N4S 2.7K 3 Channel Dash Cam
The Vantrue N4S records front, cabin and rear on three STARVIS 2 sensors, per Vantrue's page and the Amazon listing. Here is what both sources state about its night recording, parking modes, Wi-Fi, GPS and storage, and where the two differ.
Check PriceWe may earn a commission if you make a purchase through our links.
Is the Vantrue N4S 3-Channel Dash Cam Worth It in 2026?
If you want a single dash cam that records the road ahead, the cabin and the road behind, the Vantrue N4S is worth a serious look: Vantrue's own product page and the Amazon listing both describe three STARVIS 2 sensors, a 2.7K front camera, 5GHz Wi-Fi, a built-in GPS logger and support for microSD cards up to 1TB. The one thing to plan for before you buy is parking protection — Vantrue's page states that the 24/7 parking mode must be hardwired and that hardwire kits are sold separately, a requirement the Amazon listing's parking bullet never mentions. If you only want to record while driving, that caveat doesn't apply, and the N4S reads as a complete three-camera setup on both sources.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
What the N4S records
The N4S is a three-channel camera: front, cabin and rear. The Amazon listing gives the resolutions as 2.7K front, 1440P interior and 1440P rear, and its title spells the same set out as 1944P, 1440P and 1440P. Vantrue's page describes "2.7K front and 2.5K cabin/rear resolutions" and names the hardware as "three Sony STARVIS 2 IMX675 sensors" — the listing says "triple STARVIS 2-powered sensors" without naming the sensor model, so the IMX675 designation comes from Vantrue only.
The two sources don't quite agree on the lens angles. Per the listing, the lenses are 158° front, 165° cabin and 160° rear; Vantrue's page lists "158° + 160° + 160° wide-angle lenses". The front and rear figures match, and the cabin figure differs by five degrees between the two sources.
Both sources describe triple HDR. The listing says it "balances harsh contrasts — like headlights against dark roads", and Vantrue's page calls it "triple HDR technology". Both also name PlatePix: Vantrue's page says "PlatePix Mode enhances license plate recognition by focusing the front camera on capturing sharp details", while the listing goes further and claims PlatePix "sharpens license plates by 2X" — that multiplier is the seller's claim, with no method published next to it, so read it as marketing rather than a measurement.
For the cabin at night, Vantrue's page states the interior camera has "four infrared LED lights". The listing doesn't mention infrared at all, so that detail rests on Vantrue's page alone.
The rear camera gets two details worth knowing. Vantrue's page describes a "2.5K rear camera that features IP67-rated protection". The listing adds that the rear camera "rotates 360°, letting you monitor rear traffic or pivot it inward to keep an eye on cargo, luggage, or pets inside the vehicle", and it carries an installation reminder to "follow manual to connect rear camera wiring" because an "improper/loose connection may cause malfunction".
Parking mode: what the listing says and what Vantrue adds
Per the listing, the N4S has "4 proprietary parking modes": motion detection that "triggers 10 seconds pre-event recording", collision detection that "auto-locks footage on impact/collision", and "low bitrate/frame rate modes" that "extend recording by reducing file size". Vantrue's page describes the same idea as "24/7 Parking Mode" with "10s Pre-Recording Buffered Motion Detection".
The important line is the one only Vantrue states: "this feature must be hardwired (hardwire kits are sold separately)". The Amazon listing's parking bullet describes the modes without saying how the camera is powered while the car is off, so a reader working from the listing alone could assume parking mode works out of the box. It doesn't, per Vantrue — plan on a hardwire kit. If you've never run one, this fuse-tap hardwiring walkthrough covers the job, and this comparison of parking modes for street parking explains what buffered motion detection and collision locking actually do for a parked car.
Wi-Fi, GPS, storage and voice control
Both sources state 5GHz Wi-Fi. The listing's framing is that you can "access and download footage instantly" with "no need to remove the memory card", and Vantrue's page pairs the 5GHz Wi-Fi with a free app.
On GPS, the two sources use different labels for what looks like the same function. The listing calls it "quad-mode GPS + BeiDou positioning" and says it logs "your speed, location, and time"; Vantrue's page calls it a "Built In Dual-Sys. GPS Logger" that "records your route, speed, and location". Both agree it is built in and logs speed and position; neither explains why one says quad-mode and the other dual-system, so don't rely on either label for anything beyond "GPS is included".
Storage is consistent: up to 1TB microSD, and the listing is explicit that the card is "sold separately". The listing also states OTA firmware updates.
Voice control is a Vantrue-only detail: its page lists "Smart Voice Control" in "English / Japanese / Russian / Chinese / French". The N4S listing's bullets don't mention voice control. Vantrue's page also lists loop recording and an "emergency lock feature". The screen, on the other hand, appears only in the listing's title, which lists it as 2" IPS.
Heat, power and mounting
Per the listing, the N4S uses a "supercapacitor design" that "withstands extreme temperatures (-4℉ to 140℉)". That range is the listing's figure; Vantrue's page doesn't put a number on it. A supercapacitor is the power-side detail that matters for a car that sits in the sun; this explainer on supercapacitor versus battery dash cams covers why.
Mounting is described slightly differently on each side. The listing says setup uses a "magnetic mount, static cling film, and cable clips", is tool-free, and allows a wire-hidden installation. Vantrue's page describes a "secure 3M adhesive mount" whose "magnetic design allows for quick removal". Read together, that suggests an adhesive base on the glass with a magnetic camera attachment, though neither source spells out the mechanism in one sentence.
The warranty is 18 months on both sources, with slightly different phrasing: the listing says "18-Month Warranty" and "extended warranty", and Vantrue's page says "Up to 18-Month Warranty". The "up to" on Vantrue's page is worth noticing; check the current terms before counting on the full period.
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | Vantrue's page |
|---|---|---|
| Channels | 3 (front, interior, rear) | 3 (front, cabin, rear) |
| Front camera | 2.7K (1944P) | 2.7K |
| Cabin and rear cameras | 1440P each | 2.5K each |
| Sensors | "Triple STARVIS 2-powered sensors" | "Three Sony STARVIS 2 IMX675 sensors" |
| Lens angles | 158° front, 165° cabin, 160° rear | 158° + 160° + 160° |
| HDR | Triple HDR | Triple HDR technology |
| PlatePix | Yes ("sharpens license plates by 2X", seller's claim) | Yes (PlatePix Mode) |
| Cabin infrared | Not mentioned | Four infrared LED lights |
| Parking modes | 4 modes; 10-second pre-event recording; collision auto-lock | 24/7 Parking Mode; 10s buffered pre-recording |
| Hardwiring for parking mode | Not mentioned | Required; kits sold separately |
| Wi-Fi | 5GHz | 5GHz |
| GPS | Quad-mode GPS + BeiDou | Built-in dual-system GPS logger |
| microSD | Up to 1TB, sold separately | Up to 1TB |
| Voice control | Not mentioned | Yes, five languages |
| Screen | 2" IPS (title) | Not stated |
| Power and temperature | Supercapacitor, -4℉ to 140℉ | Not stated |
| Rear camera protection | Not stated | IP67 |
| Rear camera rotation | 360° | Not stated |
| Mount | Magnetic mount, static cling film, cable clips | 3M adhesive mount, magnetic quick removal |
| Warranty | 18-month | Up to 18-month |
What stands out
- Three cameras on three STARVIS 2 sensors. Both sources agree on the sensor family; Vantrue's page names the model.
- A rear camera that can turn inward. Per the listing, it rotates 360° to watch cargo or pets instead of traffic.
- IP67 on the rear camera, per Vantrue's page.
- 5GHz Wi-Fi, built-in GPS logging and 1TB card support on both sources.
- A supercapacitor, per the listing, with a stated ceiling of 140℉.
Where it might not fit
- Parking mode needs a hardwire kit, per Vantrue's page, and the kit is sold separately. The listing doesn't flag this.
- The cabin lens angle is quoted two ways (165° on the listing, 160° on Vantrue's page).
- The memory card is sold separately, per the listing, and three channels of footage take more space than one — the 1TB ceiling is there for a reason.
- The rear camera wiring comes with a reminder: the listing says an improper or loose connection may cause a malfunction, so follow the manual for that cable.
Verdict
The Vantrue N4S is worth it in 2026 if you want front, cabin and rear coverage from one unit and you're prepared to hardwire it for parking mode. The published specs line up well across the two sources on everything that matters — three STARVIS 2 sensors, triple HDR, 5GHz Wi-Fi, built-in GPS, 1TB support and an 18-month warranty — and the only outright disagreement is a five-degree cabin-angle difference, plus the different labels the two sources use for the GPS system. Check the current price of the Vantrue N4S on Amazon and confirm the current listing's package contents before you buy, since the listing's bullets don't itemize what ships in the box.
Where to buy: Check the current price of the Vantrue N4S on Amazon.
FAQ
Is the Vantrue N4S 3-channel dash cam worth it in 2026?
Yes, for a driver who wants front, cabin and rear recording in one unit. Both Vantrue's page and the Amazon listing describe three STARVIS 2 sensors, triple HDR, 5GHz Wi-Fi, built-in GPS logging and support for cards up to 1TB. Plan on a separately sold hardwire kit if you want parking mode, per Vantrue's page.
Does the Vantrue N4S need to be hardwired for parking mode?
Per Vantrue's page, yes: "this feature must be hardwired (hardwire kits are sold separately)". The Amazon listing describes the four parking modes but doesn't mention the hardwiring requirement.
What memory card does the N4S use?
Both sources state support for microSD cards up to 1TB. Per the listing, the card is sold separately.
Can the N4S rear camera record inside the car instead of behind it?
Per the listing, the rear camera rotates 360° so you can "pivot it inward to keep an eye on cargo, luggage, or pets inside the vehicle". That is in addition to the dedicated interior camera, not a replacement for it.
How wide are the N4S lenses?
The listing states 158° front, 165° cabin and 160° rear; Vantrue's page states 158°, 160° and 160°. The two sources differ only on the cabin camera, by five degrees.
Sources
- Vantrue — product page for the Vantrue N4S (Nexus 4S) 3-channel dash cam, accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the Vantrue N4S 2.7K 3 Channel Dash Cam (title, brand and feature bullets).
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Affiliate Disclosure
