Product Comparison · Roadside Power
NOCO Boost GB70 vs GB40: Which Should You Buy in 2026?
A spec-based comparison of the NOCO Boost GB70 and GB40 jump starters, covering peak amps, engine-size coverage, and starts per charge, per each listing.
NOCO Boost GB70 vs NOCO Boost GB40: Which Should You Buy?
The short answer: check your engine's displacement first. NOCO's own pages and the Amazon listings both state the same ceilings — the GB40 covers gas engines up to 6.0 liters or diesel up to 3.0 liters at 1000 peak amps and up to 20 starts per charge; the GB70 covers gas up to 8.0 liters or diesel up to 6.0 liters at 2000 peak amps and up to 40 starts per charge. If your engine is above the GB40's ceiling, the GB70 covers a wider range; if it isn't, the GB40 is the lighter of the two, per NOCO's stated weights. NOCO's pages also give both units the same IP65 enclosure rating and the same seven-mode flashlight, just at different brightness levels.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
The Core Difference: Engine Size, Not Vehicle Type
Both jump starters come from NOCO's Boost line — the GB40 is part of NOCO's Boost Plus line and the GB70 is part of NOCO's Boost HD line, per NOCO's own pages — but the two products target different engine ceilings, not different vehicle categories. The GB40 is rated, per both NOCO's page and the Amazon listing, for 12-volt gas engines up to 6.0 liters or diesel up to 3.0 liters, with up to 20 starts per charge. The GB70 is rated for gas engines up to 8.0 liters or diesel up to 6.0 liters, with up to 40 starts per charge.
The gap between the two isn't a single flat ratio: the GB70's gas ceiling (8.0L) is one-third larger than the GB40's (6.0L), while its diesel ceiling, peak amps, and starts-per-charge figures are each exactly double the GB40's. What that means in practice is simple — check your specific engine's displacement in liters against both ceilings, rather than assuming a "bigger" vehicle automatically needs the bigger unit. If you don't already know your engine's exact displacement, it's usually printed in your owner's manual, on a build sticker under the hood, or on the manufacturer's own spec page for your specific vehicle and model year.
What's the Same on Both
Per NOCO's own pages and the Amazon listings, the GB70 and GB40 share the same safety features: both are described as spark-proof with reverse-polarity protection. Both also function as a power bank for personal devices and use a lithium battery. Both carry the same IP65 enclosure rating and a rubberized over-molded casing, per NOCO's pages, and both include a flashlight with seven light modes, including SOS and emergency strobe, though at different brightness levels (100 lumens on the GB40, 400 lumens on the GB70). NOCO describes the spark-proof and reverse-polarity combination on both units as a "mistake-proof design," per its own pages, and describes the rubberized casing on both as designed "to prevent scratching or marring of surfaces."
What Isn't Stated on Either Source
Neither NOCO's pages nor the Amazon listings GarageRated reviewed state a cable length, a warranty term, or specific box contents for either unit — both NOCO product pages have a "What's in the Box" heading that didn't show itemized contents when we read them. NOCO's page states a USB recharge time for the GB40 (about 3 hours at 2.1 amps) but not for the GB70, so that's not something this page can compare directly between the two. If any of these specifics are deciding factors, check the current listing or NOCO's own packaging rather than assuming parity between the two units.
Comparison Table
| Spec | NOCO Boost GB70 | NOCO Boost GB40 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peak amps | 2000A | 1000A | Both the listings and NOCO's pages |
| Gas engine ceiling | Up to 8.0L | Up to 6.0L | Both the listings and NOCO's pages |
| Diesel engine ceiling | Up to 6.0L | Up to 3.0L | Both the listings and NOCO's pages |
| Starts per charge | Up to 40 | Up to 20 | Both the listings and NOCO's pages |
| Safety protections | Spark-proof, reverse-polarity | Spark-proof, reverse-polarity | Both the listings and NOCO's pages |
| Weight | 5.0 lb | 2.4 lb | NOCO's pages |
| Enclosure rating | IP65 | IP65 | NOCO's pages |
| Smartphone recharges | Up to 6 | Up to 4 | NOCO's pages |
| 12V output | Yes | Not stated | NOCO's pages |
| Flashlight | 400 lumens, seven modes | 100 lumens, seven modes | NOCO's pages |
| Product line | Boost HD | Boost Plus | NOCO's pages |
Who Should Buy Which
Buy the GB70 if your engine's displacement is above the GB40's stated ceiling — over 6.0 liters of gas or over 3.0 liters of diesel — up to the GB70's own 8.0L gas / 6.0L diesel ceiling, per NOCO's pages and the Amazon listings. It also carries a higher stated starts-per-charge figure (40 vs 20), a brighter flashlight (400 vs 100 lumens), and a 12V output the GB40's page doesn't mention — at roughly double the stated weight (5.0 lb vs 2.4 lb).
Check the current price of the NOCO Boost GB70 on Amazon to see its current listing.
Buy the GB40 if your engine is at or under 6.0 liters of gas or 3.0 liters of diesel. It's the lighter unit at NOCO's stated 2.4 pounds, with a shorter stated recharge time of its own (about 3 hours at 2.1 amps via USB, per NOCO's page — a figure not stated for the GB70).
Check the current price of the NOCO Boost GB40 on Amazon to see its current listing.
If you're not sure which ceiling actually fits your vehicle, this chart of jump-starter amps by engine size is worth reading before choosing between these two. And if you're shopping specifically for a diesel truck or van, this site's roundup of jump starters for diesel trucks — titled for that exact situation — is a reasonable next stop.
Check the current price of the NOCO Boost GB70 on Amazon or the NOCO Boost GB40 on Amazon to compare the current listings side by side.
FAQ
What's the main difference between the NOCO Boost GB70 and GB40?
Per NOCO's own pages and the Amazon listings, the GB70 is rated for a higher engine-displacement ceiling (up to 8.0L gas or 6.0L diesel, versus the GB40's 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel) at roughly double the peak amps and starts per charge. The GB70 also weighs more — 5.0 pounds versus the GB40's 2.4 pounds, per NOCO's stated figures.
Is the GB70 just a bigger version of the GB40 with no real differences?
Mostly, yes, in terms of what each is built to do — both share the same safety features, the same power-bank function, and the same IP65 rating, per NOCO's pages. The real differences are the engine-displacement ceiling, starts per charge, weight, and a 12V output that only the GB70's page mentions.
Do both models have the same safety features?
Yes — per NOCO's pages and the Amazon listings, both are described as spark-proof with reverse-polarity protection.
Can either one charge my phone?
Yes. NOCO's pages state up to 4 smartphone recharges for the GB40 and up to 6 for the GB70, in addition to each unit's main job of jump-starting a dead battery.
If I only own a sedan, is the GB70 more capability than I need?
Check your engine's displacement rather than the vehicle type: if your gas engine is at or under 6.0 liters or your diesel engine is at or under 3.0 liters, the GB40's stated ceiling already covers it, and the GB70's extra range mainly matters if your engine, or another vehicle you'd need to jump, is above that.
Both NOCO units sit alongside several other roadside-power picks on this site; see our full shortlist to compare further.
Sources
- NOCO — product page for the GB70 (no.co), accessed October 2026.
- NOCO — product page for the GB40 (no.co), accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the NOCO Boost GB70: 2000A UltraSafe Jump Starter, per GarageRated's cleaned copy of the listing.
- Amazon product listing for the NOCO Boost GB40: 1000A UltraSafe Jump Starter, per GarageRated's cleaned copy of the listing.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Affiliate Disclosure

